Your New Year Blueprint

Where did the year go?  It is the same sentiment every late December; twelve months have passed and we are left to wonder, did I do all that I should have or could have this past year?

As we consider the new year, and before we start with grandiose dreaming, perhaps a better starting point is to take an inventory of what matters most to us.

For me, faith and family are the most important things in my life.  So if I am considering new career or other personal goals, I should consider these goals through the lens of my primary values.  Sacrificing my faith or my relationship with my wife or that of my adult children to achieve a personal goal, is not a goal worth considering.

By all means, dream big, try something new, and paint the palette of the new year with with outrageous plans.  But do so honoring your values, and I believe you will have a year without regrets.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Great advice, Alan. Happy New Year!

    Reply
  2. Alan, I’ve nominated your blog for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. See my post at http://waywardjourney.com/2013/01/02/very-inspiring-blogger-and-sunshine-awards/ to find out the rules (at the bottom). Your blog is definitely an inspiration. Thanks for sharing your insights! – Jay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

